Lot 220 Ravenel Autumn Auction 2020 Taipei

Ravenel Autumn Auction 2020 Taipei

Untitled (Pop Shop Counter)

Keith HARING (American, 1958 - 1990)

1986

Mixed media

91.4(L) x 121.9(W) x 48.3(H) cm

Estimate

TWD 13,000,000-18,000,000

HKD 3,457,000-4,787,000

USD 445,500-616,900

CNY 3,059,000-4,235,000

Sold Price

TWD 13,200,000

HKD 3,586,957

USD 463,158

CNY 3,020,595


This lot is to be sold with a certificate of authenticity issued by Keith Haring Studio LLC

+ OVERVIEW

Pop Shop in Manhattan, 1986
— An extension of Keith Haring work
“Art should liberate your soul, trigger your imagination and inspire people to move forward.”-Keith Haring

Originated from the street, from the city's artistic creation, while in the 1980s when the street culture was popular, though Keith Haring was not the one initiated the first wave of graffiti, his art has sprung up on the subways and streets of New York then. Born in Pennsylvania in 1958, he likes to paint since he was a child, his father was his enlightenment teacher in cartoon drawing skills. Trained in a formal college, he participated in many international exhibitions after his first solo exhibition in New York in 1981, from New York to the Kassel Documenta in Germany, and the Sao Paulo Biennale in Brazil. He also has joined a number of public art in relation to graffiti, poster design and performing art.

"Graffiti is the best thing I have ever seen."-Keith Haring

In 1982, Keith Haring was arrested by the New York police for graffiti in a subway station, the process was reported by Columbia Television and then brought him became fame. The city became his canvas, his street art creations often contain many classic elements, symbols are repetitive such as angels, dogs, flying objects and people with piercing all over the body are presented in thick silhouettes and monochrome outlines. They seem to be childlike and humorous, but the context is hinting with provocations and hidden anger. Across the agenda of birth, death, love, gender and war, he created a symbolic spirit that is universally spread. His tender care for the society and human nature is reflected in his creations, for instance anti-war, anti-nuclear, anti-drug and AIDS equal rights movements.

Though Keith Haring’s creative career only lasted for a short period of ten years, but is undoubtedly explosive, his art has never been far away from the mass public. He once said, “Here’s the philosophy behind the Pop Shop: I wanted to continue this same sort of communication as with the subway drawings. I wanted to attract the same wide range of people, and I wanted it to be a place where, yes, not only collectors could come, but also kids from the Bronx. The main point was that we didn’t want to produce things that would cheapen the art. In other words, this was still an art statement.” He has been seen to participate in many social movements, even his works then were already exhibited in museums. The prevalence of American pop culture in the 1980s, repressive but simultaneously fanatical, conservative yet radical social atmosphere in the post Cold War, the rebellious relationship between art and popular culture, all these contradictions are clearly visible in his artistic philosophy. Confronting with these issues, he proudly stands on the front line with a distinctive personal style to express his viewpoint through art.

In 1986, a trendy shop called “Pop Shop” was launched in Soho, New York, selling T-shirts, posters and his own works. The idea behind this initiative was “I want to continue to have the same communication as graffiti in the subway, I want to attract as many people as in the subway, not only collectors can come, but also children in the Bronx. And the crucial point is that we do not want to produce products that will lower the art price, in other words, this is a state of art.” This kind of business venture allows more people to have access to his art. Keith Haring reckons that the purpose of creating art is to communicate and hence contribute to the culture, and the art he believes in is gratuitously created for the mass public. And this work “Untitled (Pop Shop Counter)” was hand painted by him in the counter of his pop shop.
Keith Haring employed graffiti imagery to convey a variety of messages and went deep into the society, was clearly loved by everybody, nevertheless it is an universal symbolic language. Between 1982 and 1989, he has created at least 50 public artworks in more than 10 cities around the world, and most of them are for charity. His art has long surpassed the limitations of his short yet fascinating life, leaving the world with his enthusiasm and care for the society.
Related Info

Modern & Contemporary Art

Ravenel Autumn Auction 2020 Taipei

Sunday, December 6, 2020, 12:00am

編號 220 羅芙奧台北2020秋季拍賣會

羅芙奧台北2020秋季拍賣會

無題(潮店櫃台)

凱斯.哈林 (美國, 1958 - 1990)

1986

綜合媒材

91.4(長) x 121.9(寬) x 48.3(高) cm

預估價格

TWD 13,000,000-18,000,000

HKD 3,457,000-4,787,000

USD 445,500-616,900

CNY 3,059,000-4,235,000

成交價格

TWD 13,200,000

HKD 3,586,957

USD 463,158

CNY 3,020,595


附斯哈林工作室開立之原作保證書

+ 概述

「藝術應該解放你的靈魂,觸發你的想像並激勵人們向前走。」— 凱斯.哈林

來自街頭,源於城市的藝術創作,在街頭文化盛行的1980年代凱斯.哈林雖然不是引領塗鴉風潮的第一波發起人,但他的藝術卻如雨後春筍般佈滿1980年代紐約的地鐵及街頭。1958年出生於美國賓州,自小便喜歡畫畫,父親是他卡通繪畫技巧的蒙師。受教於正規學院訓練1981年首次個展於紐約後便參加多個國際展覽,從紐約至歐洲德國卡塞爾文件展、巴西聖保羅雙年展等,聲名享譽國際。凱斯‧哈林也進行多項公共藝術塗鴉、海報設計和涉及表演藝術領域。

「塗鴉是我見過最美好的事物。」— 凱斯.哈林

1982年因在地鐵站塗鴉遭到紐約警方以現行犯逮捕,而其過程被美國哥倫比亞電視台報導而聲名大譟。城市即為他的畫布,凱斯.哈林的街頭創作中時常蘊含許多經典元素,重覆出現的符號如天使、狗、飛碟、身體穿洞的人以粗輪廓、單色的線條呈現,看似童趣暨幽默但內容卻不乏挑釁與隱藏的憤怒。從出生、死亡、愛情、性別和戰爭等議題,凱斯.哈林創造出了普世流傳的符號精神。他對社會及人性的關懷皆反映在他的創作中,反戰、反核、反毒與愛滋平權運動。

在他短短十年卻充滿爆發力的創作生涯中,凱斯.哈林的藝術從未遠離群眾。他曾說過「我對世界的貢獻是我的繪畫能力,我將盡我所能,在此生所及為更多人們而畫。繪畫,從史前直至今日基本上仍是相同的。它將人類及世界結合在一起,透過魔法般的方式存在著。」許多社會運動中皆有他的身影,即使他的作品亦登上美術館殿堂。1980年代美國大眾文化的盛行,冷戰後的社會氛圍中壓抑卻狂熱,保守卻激進,藝術與大眾文化之間的反抗關係,於凱斯.哈林的藝術理念中嶄露無遺,面對這些議題,他也以鮮明的個人風格站在前線以藝術表達立場。

1986年在紐約蘇活區開了一間名為「Pop Shop」販售T恤、海報以及自己作品的潮店,而這間潮流背後的理念為「我想繼續與在地鐵塗鴉一般地進行相同的交流。我想吸引同樣多的人,而且我希望它成為一個不僅收藏家可以來,同時布朗克斯區的孩子也可以來的地方。而重點是我們不想生產會降低藝術品價格的產品;換句話說,這是一種藝術的狀態。」此種商業計畫讓更多人可以接觸到凱斯‧哈林的藝術,他認為創造藝術的目的就是文化交流並為文化做出貢獻,且他相信的藝術,是從大眾而出發的無償創作。而此件作品《無題(潮店櫃台)》則為當時凱斯.哈林親筆繪製潮店內的櫃台。

凱斯‧哈林以塗鴉圖像傳遞了各種訊息而深入社會並深受大家喜愛,不為一種舉世共通的符號語言。1982至1989年之間他已於全球10幾座城市創造出50幾件公共藝術作品,且大多目的多出於慈善,而他的藝術早已超越了藝術家短暫生命的局限,留給世人他對藝術對社會的熱情與關懷。
相關資訊

現代與當代藝術

羅芙奧台北2020秋季拍賣會

2020/12/06 (日) 上午12:00