Lot 068 Ravenel Spring Auction 2021 Taipei

Ravenel Spring Auction 2021 Taipei

A Little Crazy

Javier Calleja (Spanish, 1971)

2018

Acrylic on canvas

195 x 162 cm

Estimate

TWD 16,000,000-24,000,000

HKD 4,360,000-6,540,000

USD 560,800-841,200

CNY 3,695,000-5,543,000

Sold Price

TWD 26,400,000

HKD 7,333,333

USD 942,857

CNY 6,096,998


Signature

Titled reverse A LITTLE CRAZY

PROVENANCE:
Nanzuka Contemporary Art Gallery, Tokyo

EXHIBITED:
Art Basel Hong Kong, March, 2018

+ OVERVIEW

Javier Calleja is a Spanish contemporary artist who attracted the attention of collectors worldwide with his signature "wideeyed boy" self-portraits, which combine text and images. Following the debut of Calleja's first solo exhibition in Spain in 2003, he then brought it to other places in the world, such as Paris, Waldkirchen, Hamburg, and New York. In 2007, he held his first solo exhibition in Asia, where his adorable style swept across the art world. He then began consistently setting new auction records starting from 2019. While Calleja's solo exhibition continuously toured throughout New York, Japan, and Europe, he also collaborated with trendy communities in launching limited edition figures. His fresh and humorous style resonates with collectors across different generations.

Born in 1971, Calleja came from Malaga-the same hometown as Pablo Picasso-a war m city in souther n Spain near the Mediterranean Costa del Sol. Calleja began his art career after graduating from Universidad de Granada's Faculty of Fine Arts in 2000. Tracing the path of his cr eation, he often used daily utensils, such as matchsticks, paper clips, and colored pencils, around 2013 to create whimsical "miniature" scenes on wall corners and fingertips from a displaced viewpoint. In a subcultural way, Calleja has also demonstrated the approach of applying English words and short phrases to highlight the themes of his works. On the contrary, the 3D works on gallery display in 2018 adopted the approach of expanding and enlar ging pencil sketches, notebooks, cats, and slippers into surreal, playful sights. In the early phases, Calleja used a germinated potato, gray moon, Rubik's cube, and cloud to replace the character's head, thereby bridging the gap between personification and objectification. The combination of big eyes and friendly, dorky facial expressions was also passed on to the subsequent wide-eyed boys series.

Calleja loves reading the works of Nobel Prize winner and playwright Samuel Beckett to seek inspiration or even short sentences to construct images. As Calleja once expressed in an interview, he particularly admires artists, such as Alex Katz, Philip Guston, René Magritte, and Yoshitomo Nara, for their simple yet profound artistic expressions. Dedicated to Italian conceptual artist Maurizio Cattelan and his humorous, satirical philosophy, Calleja re-created the sculpture Little Maurizio in 2019 by adding his own interpretation. In response to comments about seeing Yoshitomo Nara's influence in his works, Calleja said he has also been deeply influenced by his friend KAWS and street artist Barry McGee. Despite his own preference to work in a spacious, quiet studio instead of on crowded streets, Calleja very much admires Barry McGee's interpretation of character portraits. That is why he also applied this symbol to his creation.

The wide-eyed boys in Calleja's works can be considered a reflection of himself. By telling stories in the simplest visual language consisting of a pair of eyes and a slogan t-shirt, the image naturally sparks a dialogue with the audience and fulfills Calleja's hope to convey important messages through art. The big innocent eyes are clear and pure, as if the child stops crying and continues forward after overcoming current difficulties and encouraging themselves to gain an inner resilience. The paintings not only feature slogans like "Don't cry," "never too late," or "here and now," but they also leave blank spaces for viewers to imagine and interpret the painting's stories from their own perspectives. In this way, Calleja continues to innovate in his exhibitions. On one hand, he consistently challenges himself, while, on the other hand, he believes that the experiences of viewers should complement the artistic expression. In the absence of an audience, self-admired art would lose its original intention of "communication."

SELECT session recommends A Little Crazy by Calleja, a piece of work created in 2018, which was displayed at Art Basel, Hong Kong. The boy in the painting wears a blue t-shirt, with naive soft cheeks and blank facial expressions. His round and golden eyes look like crystal clear marbles. Despite having a red nose from crying, the boy smiles with exposed front teeth. Calleja shared this piece of work on Instagram on March 19 of the same year by posting a photo of its completion in the studio with the following caption, "Monday mood...A Little crazy. Coming soon on @artbasel Hong Kong..." Such humor brings a knowing smile to viewers' faces. In addition to being vividly interesting, it also cleverly illustrates Calleja's belief that art can naturally blend into daily life and become deeply rooted in people's hearts without abstruse endorsement.
Related Info

Select: Modern & Contemporary Art

Ravenel Spring Auction 2021 Taipei

Saturday, July 17, 2021, 12:00am

編號 068 羅芙奧台北2021春季拍賣會

羅芙奧台北2021春季拍賣會

有一點瘋狂

哈維爾.卡勒加 (西班牙, 1971)

2018年

壓克力 畫布

195 x 162 cm

預估價格

TWD 16,000,000-24,000,000

HKD 4,360,000-6,540,000

USD 560,800-841,200

CNY 3,695,000-5,543,000

成交價格


簽名備註

題識畫背:A LITTLE CRAZY

來源:
Nanzuka當代藝術畫廊,東京

展覽:
香港巴塞爾藝術博覽會,2018年3月

+ 概述

哈維爾.卡勒加(Javier Calleja),以結合圖像、文字的自畫像「大眼仔男孩」風格,吸引全球藏家目光的西班牙當代藝術家。2003 年在西班牙舉行首次個展,之後陸續展覽於世界各地如巴黎、德國瓦爾德基興、漢堡及紐約。2017 年第一次於亞洲舉辦個人展覽,可愛風格席捲藝壇,2019 年起拍賣紀錄不斷飆高。紐約、日本、歐洲個展不斷,聯手潮流圈推出限量公仔,清新幽默的風格,串聯不同世代藏家的共鳴。

哈維爾1971 年出生,與大師畢卡索一樣,家鄉是西班牙南部馬拉加市(Malaga),濱臨地中海太陽海岸的溫暖城市。2000 年自格拉那達大學美術系畢業,開始藝術生涯。探尋他的創作脈絡,約2013 年前後,哈維爾多用日常物件,如:火柴棒、迴紋針和彩色鉛筆,施以錯置的視角,在牆角和手指上,變化出富有趣味的「超迷你」寫真場景。而帶有次文化特色,使用英文單詞、短句,下標作品主題的手法也已經出現。2018 年畫廊中展示的立體作品,手法則相反地以「巨大化」鉛筆塗鴉、筆記本、貓咪、拖鞋,膨脹化超現實的玩味景象。早期,他用發芽馬鈴薯、灰色月球、彩色魔術方塊、雲朵,置換人物的頭部,拉近(擬)人與物(化)之間的差異。一雙大的眼睛,搭配親切且不失尷尬的呆萌表情,也延續到後來的大眼仔男孩系列。

哈維爾喜愛閱讀諾貝爾文學獎得主、法國劇作家-薩繆爾.貝克特(Samuel Beckett) 的作品, 從中尋找靈感構築畫面, 甚至是標註在作品上的短句。哈維爾曾在訪談中表述,欣賞亞力士.凱茲(Alex Katz)、菲利普.古斯頓(Philip Guston)、賀內.馬格利特(René Magritte)、奈良美智(Yoshitomo Nara)等藝術家,簡約且富含深意的藝術表現。2019 年為致敬意大利觀念藝術家─莫瑞吉奧.卡特蘭(Maurizio Cattelan),認同其幽默與諷刺並存的理念,哈維爾加入自己的理解後,再創作出雕塑作品《小莫瑞吉奧》(Little Maurizio)。當外界說在哈維爾的世界,看見奈良美智的影子,他則表示KAWS 的友人、街頭藝術大師─貝瑞.麥吉(Barry McGee)也深深影響了他。雖然哈維爾本人更喜歡在寬廣安靜的工作室,而非人群熙壤的街頭創作,但是他非常欣賞貝瑞.麥吉對於「頭像」的詮釋,也因此這個符碼運用在自己的創作中。

哈維爾筆下的大眼仔男孩們,都可以看成是他自身的反射。以最簡潔的視覺語言:一雙眼睛、一件標語T-shirt 敘述故事,讓畫面自然與觀者產生對話,貫徹他希望用藝術傳遞重要道理的精神。水汪汪的大眼睛,澄澈透明。如同孩子停止哭泣,代表他們克服當下的困境,繼續向前邁進,砥礪自己成為內在堅強的英雄。畫中寫下:「不要哭泣」(Don't cry)、「永遠不遲」(never too late)、「此時此刻」(here and now)標語的同時,亦留下大面積的留白,讓觀眾保有想像的空間,用自己的視角闡述畫中故事。哈維爾不斷在新展覽中推陳出新,一方面是不斷超越自我,另一面是他認為觀者的感受,與藝術的呈現應該相輔相成。若是沒有了觀眾,孤芳自賞的藝術,也失去「溝通」的本意。

薈萃國際專場推薦《有一點瘋狂》創作於2018 年,此作曾經於香港Art Basel 藝術博覽會展出。畫中主角藍衣小男孩,一臉稚氣的粉嫩雙頰,呆愣放空的神情,圓亮金黃的眼睛,像極剔透的彈珠。哭紅的小鼻子,露出兩顆大門牙咧嘴而笑。同年的3 月19 日哈維爾曾在自己的Instagram 帳號分享這件作品,剛剛完成於工作室的場景,並標註:「星期一心情⋯「有一點瘋狂」⋯即將展於香港巴塞爾藝博⋯」(原文:Monday mood...A Little crazy. Coming soon on @artbasel Hong Kong...)如此令觀眾會心一笑的幽默,不僅生動有趣,更巧妙應證他心中的藝術,毋須艱澀論述的背書,也可以自然融入日常情景並深植人心。
相關資訊

薈萃國際:現代與當代藝術

羅芙奧台北2021春季拍賣會

2021/07/17 (六) 上午12:00